• Help For A New Vegan?

    Profile photo of bethgems

    Over a year ago

    I have just made the transition from vegetarian to vegan (yay!) And I’m a bit confused about some foods.

    If on the food packet it has no animal derived ingredients but then says ‘May Contain- milk, eggs ect.’ Or ‘Made In A Factory Which Uses- milk, ect.’ Is it vegan?
    I’ve been avoiding them so far but I would love to hear what other vegans think!

    Thank you!!

Please log in to reply.

  • Profile photo of tofumonster

    Over a year ago

    Usually I won’t buy something that says “May Contain:…” unless I really need whatever the product is and there is no alternative. I don’t think there is a right or wrong answer though, since we’re talking about such miniscule amounts of milk or egg and there isn’t much you can do about the factories or equipment the products are made on.

    Btw, congratulations on going vegan! =^.^=

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of alexblue

    Over a year ago

    I try to avoid them too but it’s a challenge sometimes. Even the official vegan label certification organization accepts products with that statement. More info here…
    It’s a great question…I’m curious to see what other people think too. :)

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.


All animal emergencies (injured, stray, neglected, abused, etc) should be reported to our Emergency Response Team, not posted on the Boards.

Chatting Today

casey now chatting boards

Recent Activities

  • Profile Photo

    Bindi Irwin: Stop Supporting SeaWorld!

  • Profile Photo

    Coffee Made With SH#T?!

  • Profile Photo

    STOP Cruel Cosmetics Tests on Animals in the U.S.

  • Profile Photo

    Stop Cruel Races With Cute Animals!

  • Profile Photo

    HEARTBREAKING: Horses Drugged for Racing!