I’ve been informed that even some non dairy things have
traces of animal products in them,What are all of the additives
and other Things that are put into food,Listed on the back of the labels,
That a beginning Vegan like myself,should avoid and watch out for?
Thank you both! This info is very informative,I’ll make sure to make some notes
about what I need to look out for,And carry it with me in my purse when I go shopping
next time, thankfully most of what I bought last time is all vegan,save for these meatless soy non chicken nuggets that actually contain the egg whites as a binder in the batter
Boo! 🙁 I gotta watch out for this stuff. Thanks again!
Casein is a animal based protein (it comes from milk), which is often included in soy cheeses as well. Rennet, unless specified as vegetarian rennet is an enzyme from a cows stomach. A lot of products list albumen, which is a fancy term for egg whites. Carmine is a red pigment made from crushed mites… Though if you are eating any factory made food you are probably eating bug parts. Health and safety has a list which says the maximum numbers of bug parts a food can contain. Gelatin is made from the boiled connective tissues of animals. Those are the most common ones you see. If you have an iPod there is an app which lists all sorts of stuff, and what it’s made from and lets you sort always vegan/sometimes vegan/not vegan friendly.
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
All animal emergencies (injured, stray, neglected, abused, etc) should be reported to our Emergency Response Team, not posted on the Boards.