• My Vegan pizza dream crushed.

    Profile photo of Dathappycow

    Over a year ago

    I am writing this in anger and I feel bad, even though it was an accident. So I haven’t had pizza in months (since I became vegan), so I decided I would mak a pizza and use vegan cheese, so I walk up to the vegan section and the market, and I see that they ran out of daiya mozzarella cheese, so I look around and see “Go Veggie Cheese”, ans on the cover it says “made with rice” and “cheese alternative” so I got excited that I would finally have pizza (vegan pizza) and as I am ckeaning up after enjoying my pizza, I look at the ingredients to see if I can give some to my sister who has gluten allergies, so I look where it says “contains” and it says “contains milk”. So now I’m just upset and confused why it said cheese alternative if it contains milk. .___. So its just a warning…. Moral of the story: buy daiya mozzarella cheese if you want to make pizza,

Please log in to reply.

  • Profile photo of hakred

    Over a year ago

    That misleading Go Veggie brand cheese has always bothered me. It’s the only variety available locally. @Dathappycow, mistakes will happen, but it’s okay. It’s a learning experience. :)

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of isakitahashi

    Over a year ago

    The soy cheese at Trader Joes isn’t vegan either :(

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of LittleLotte

    Over a year ago

    I’ve had similar experiences, but usually it’s other people buying something “vegan” for me without even realising it’s not:
    “I used vegan cheese for this pizza so you can have it, it says it’s lacto-free, it’s the one with the cow on the front, right?” D’OH!

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of alexblue

    Over a year ago

    So sorry you had that happen…it’s happened to a LOT of people. I guess they recently changed their packaging to try to prevent it…only the purple ones are vegan and they say “Vegan” on the front. I’m happy they did that but they it took a long time for them to get the message so lots of people had to learn the hard way. Stick with the purple Go Veggie if the crazyyumful Daiya isn’t available but ALWAYS check the ingredients on anything if it doesn’t clearly say vegan on the package. :)

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

PLEASE READ:

All animal emergencies (injured, stray, neglected, abused, etc) should be reported to our Emergency Response Team, not posted on the Boards.

Chatting Today

casey now chatting boards

Leaderboard

Recent Activities