• Orange Juice Question

    Profile photo of StickyMike

    Over a year ago

    Someone bought me some orange juice. The kind “with calcium and vitamin D!” It contains tricalcium citrate and vitamin d3. Normally I get the plain orange juice, but I have always been curious… Would this juice be vegan? Web searches aren’t much help.

Please log in to reply.

  • Profile photo of annie-l

    Staff

    Over a year ago

    Hey @StickyMike,

    Typically, soymilk is fortified with vitamin D2, the vegan form of vitamin D, while cereals, juice, and margarine are fortified with vitamin D3 derived from sheep’s wool. If the label on a fortified food doesn’t say what form of vitamin D is used to fortify the food, you can contact the company.

    ~Annie from peta2.

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of VeganCaramel

    Over a year ago

    Vitamin d2 can be plant derived, but as far as I’m aware, vitamin d3 is always or almost always derived from animals. Not vegan.

    http://www.vrg.org/nutshell/faqingredients.htm#d3

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of LittleLotte

    Over a year ago

    Vitamin D3 often comes from animal sources like lanolin (wool). The best thing to do would be contact the company directly and ask.

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of Sagojyou

    Over a year ago

    Good question…I’ve seen someone else ask the same question… Idk, but you could always call the company!

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

PLEASE READ:

All animal emergencies (injured, stray, neglected, abused, etc) should be reported to our Emergency Response Team, not posted on the Boards.

Chatting Today

casey now chatting boards

Recent Activities