BE A PART OF THE PETA2 MOVEMENT
  • Red 40

    Profile photo of trae93

    Over a year ago

    I’ve read conflicting views on it so once and for all, is it vegan? Thank you in advance for your help!

Please log in to reply.

  • Profile photo of LittleLotte

    Over a year ago

    It’s E120 (Carmine/cochineal) that’s not vegan.

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of alexblue

    Over a year ago

    According to The Vegetarian Resource Group
    “What is FD & C Red #40 and is it vegan?
    FD & C Red #40 is 99% coal tar derivatives. We don’t know of any animal products in it. For years a rumor has claimed that it is made of cochineal or carmine, but that is not true.”
    And according to Vegan Peace’s awesome ingredient list
    “FD&C Red 40 (B): Allura Red. Derived from either coal tar or petroleum. It is not derived from insects.”
    so yeah, it’s vegan, but if vegan = cruelty-free, that includes you too so try to avoid it if you can.

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Chatting Today

casey now chatting boards

PLEASE READ:

All animal emergencies (injured, stray, neglected, abused, etc) should be reported to our Emergency Response Team, not posted on the Boards.

Recent Activities