I just made the switch today, so I don’t know what’s safe & what’s not… I’m a big diet soda drinker, mostly diet coke & diet dr. pepper, does anyone know if they’re alright to drink? I heard that the candy company MARS (M&M, Skittles etc) does animal testing, does anyone know if this is true? Also, what candies would be alright to eat? Before hand, thanks! 🙂
@sabreena7898 I’m not American so I can’t say for sure if it is or not but you should always check the ingredients of things since animal ingredients hide in strange places and once you become more accustomed to avoiding certain foods it’ll become much easier and you’ll get used to it fairly quickly.
I avoid drinks with beta-carotene in them (usually orange and red coloured) as it needs fish gelatine to be soluable in liquid but most other sodas are ok 🙂
As @teatowls said, avoid cochineal or E120, but also watch out for shellac and beeswax in sweets, they’re usually used to coat them to make them shiny. (Beeswax is vegetarian but not vegan, shellac is debatable whether it’s even vegetarian but it’s certainly not vegan).
Oh and starting today save 10% on EVERYTHING Easter through Sunday at VeganEssentials!
“From now through Sunday, you’ll be able to save 10% on all items in our Easter products category – there’s no shortage of chocolates, bunnies, vegan eggs (including the beautiful Booja Booja hand-painted carved egg boxes with truffles inside!), so if you’ve been holding off on your shopping, now’s the perfect time to visit us at VeganEssentials.com!
No coupon code will be necessary – this special is automatically activated as soon as you visit our website.” http://www.veganessentials.com/