• Sneaky non vegetarian foods

    Profile photo of caroline009

    Over a year ago

    Even after going on five years of being a vegetarian and four of being a vegan, I find new things all the time that are not NOT veg friendly that I have been consuming (yuck!) like it wasn’t until last year I found out Marshmellows, Gummy Bears, etc were not vegetarian becuase I had no idea gelatin wasn’t, until reading about it, then I wanted to puke. Not long before that I realized that fried foods, mostly not vegan/vegetarian, it had never even crossed my mind before that animal meats may of been fried in the same grease. I had never thought that (because I never used in home cooked meals, nor did my parents) that greens would be cooked with beef, or some other stock, or even adding a chunk into the vegetables for ‘flavoring’ until a friend of mine pointed that out.

    My point is, after five years I am STILL finding out things. When becoming a vegetarian no one ever told me these things, they didn’t say hey Here is a list of sneaky dining out non veg friendly tricks, or here is a list of common non veg friendly ingredients. It would have been VERY helpful.

    Is anyone else having this issues? Or is it just me???

    BTW I don’t classify myself as Vegan anymore due to the fact I don’t feel I have fully conquered vegetarianism… I still don’t eat cheeses, milk, etc though… Could never go back to those dairy products!

Please log in to reply.

  • Profile photo of Dagmar

    Over a year ago

    You learn all the time and I still make mistakes from time to time. A few months ago I found cheese that was made from almonds, but when I got home I found the word casein on the list of ingredients. When I was first vegetarian I found gelatin in candies, pop-tarts, and all sorts of things. You really have to read the labels and check if companies changed the packaging. They often change recipes without informing consumers. Don’t give up and we all make mistakes.

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of hakred

    Over a year ago

    I had the same problems. I think it’s all a big learning experience at first, nobody is perfect! There is a lot of research you can do, though, that will help you avoid animal ingredients even in the beginning. I didn’t realize that when I first went veg, but I wasn’t a member of peta2 at the time. They’re a BIG help. :)

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of caroline009

    Over a year ago

    http://www.vegansociety.com/lifestyle/food/hidden-ingredients.aspx

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of caroline009

    Over a year ago

    By the way here is a good site I found http://www.veganwolf.com/animal_ingredients.htm that list ingredients non vegetarian.

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

PLEASE READ:

All animal emergencies (injured, stray, neglected, abused, etc) should be reported to our Emergency Response Team, not posted on the Boards.

Chatting Today

casey now chatting boards

Leaderboard

Recent Activities