• This "vegetarian" food contains calf bile! Are you eating it?

    Profile photo of VeganCaramel

    Over a year ago

    Bile, Anyone?

    Rennet, one of the key ingredients in cheese making, is often described as “the inner lining of a calf’s stomach”. Most people don’t take this to mean much, as they think, “well, yeah, so a calf had to die for my cheese; so what?”

    Rennet is literally calf bile. Sounds tasty already, huh?

    Every package of cheese that says “enzymes” in the ingredient list in the US is almost guaranteed to have calf bile (while slightly less likely in the UK). The fact that rennet is in nearly every cheese might make this unvegetarian in the eyes of most, seeing as it comes from the death of a baby cow. There are specialty dairy “cheeses” made for vegetarians that do not contain animal rennet, but you can be sure that if you’re going out for pizza at some local pizzeria (especially in the US), they aren’t using that special cheese. They are using the same bile everyone else is eating.

    Let’s make this clear: Most cheese is not vegetarian.

    But, hey, enjoy the food you say you could never give up. You could try to buy expensive vegetarian cheese for the rest of your life, still contributing to the torture and slaughter of dairy cows…

    or you could try to go vegan. There is a myriad of different ways to get that cheezy flavour in the wide world of vegan food, such as store bought vegan shredded cheeses, bricks, squares, slices and more. There’s also nutritional yeast, which is cheaper than buying most any type of cheese you’ve bought before, and is versatile for so many different recipes. Vegan mac and cheeze will blow you away.

    When you can have your “cheeze” and eat it too, going vegan seems like the smart, tasty, and bile-free choice.

    What’s your take on the cheese problem?

Please log in to reply.

  • Profile photo of alexblue

    Over a year ago

    Animal-derived cheese…never okay.
    Daiya, Teese and nut-based “cheeses”…superyumful!
    …and this stuff is crazyawesome!

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of Exit

    Over a year ago

    Sorry, I’ve been vegetarian longer than many have been alive. I’ll never be vegan, and I don’t need to be told what to do in this regard. If you can’t respect that someone is vegetarian, then I don’t know what to say.

    Also, being truly vegan is basically impossible. Many vegans rely on supplements which come from animal sources, use medication with animal ingredients, drive cars or ride bikes with stearic acid in the rubber tires, on and on.

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of Sara-W

    Over a year ago

    Hey @exit,

    Even if a cheese says it doesn’t have rennet in it, it is still full of hormones, cholesterol, and PUS. Cows used for dairy are hooked up to machines their entire lives, have their babies ripped away from them, and are eventually slaughtered and turned into cheap hamburger meat once their bodies give out. 🙁

    Let’s not support an industry that treats animals like they’re machines and use vegan cheeses like Daiya or any of these yummy brands instead: 🙂

    ~Sara from peta2

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of Ashesluvs88

    Over a year ago

    eww looks like I’m not eating cheese anymore.

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of Exit

    Over a year ago

    Oh, also, don’t forget Indian cheese, which is made with lemon juice to curdle instead.

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Chatting Today

casey now chatting boards


All animal emergencies (injured, stray, neglected, abused, etc) should be reported to our Emergency Response Team, not posted on the Boards.

Follow Us