@Dagmar, yeah I forgot about that too. But remember way back in the day when people were like ohmg! Aspartame causes cancer!! and then there were the ones that said, yeah, only because the rats were given asinine amounts. So I think i’m going to buy a soda stream or maybe start getting Zevia -.-
If you live in the US, than most are, in Europe or England, it’s a different story. I know some vegans that won;t drink regular or diet because the corn syrup and asparatame are tested on animals. And like @LittleLotte said, if you avoid certain sugars, than the throw back ones are out too.
If you’re like me and just love carbonated stuff, you could invest in a soda stream. It’s 70$ and depending on how much you make, every week to every few months buying a new cartridge(I encountered Soda Streams in Germany a few months before they came to the us, and the family I was staying with had me make about 6 bottles of bubbly water a day, so we burned through 2 canisters in about a week and a half, so hopefully that gives you an idea of how much bubbly stuff one makes), which is only 20$(and hopefully will go down once america gets on the exchange program bandwagon), you can make your own soda flavored with fruit juice, so that way you know it’s vegan.
Your other option, which is waaaaay pricey would be to buy that soda they make sweetened with stevia. It’s pricey as hell, but it’s healthy and 100% vegan. (Search Zevia on Amazon. They have cases of it that are part of their subscribe and save plan, and the prices aren’t too bad)
This is relatively off topic, but you should avoid Mountain Dew or really any citrus soda(with the exceptions of Crush, Sierra Mist and I think Squirt). The chemical they use to keep the flavoring from separating literally eats your brain. Over 100 countries have banned the use of bromanated vegetable oil in foods, but the US is one of those countries that just doesn’t care.
Unless you’re a vegan that avoids certain sugars, then most are vegan.
The only ones I avoid are red/orange coloured ones that contain beta-carotene. Beta-carotene itself is vegan but needs fish gelatine to make it soluable in liquids.