BE A PART OF THE PETA2 MOVEMENT

Surprisingly Vegan Starbucks

Who doesn’t need Starbucks every once in a while (or every day, in our case)? Well, guess what! There are tons of vegan options there!

How To Order Vegan At Starbucks

The basic drinks are vegan: Get yourself a hot or an iced coffee with soy or coconut milk and any flavored sweetener syrup (like vanilla, caramel, or hazelnut), and you’re set! Hot or iced tea is always vegan as well. For more complicated drinks, simply apply these two rules:

First, remember to order soy or coconut milk. All stores carry it, and it can replace milk in any drink for a small, additional cost.

2-Steps

Second, avoid a few ingredients. If your order normally comes with any of these items, just ask nicely for them to leave it out:

  • Whipped cream
  • Java chips (inside the java chip frappuccino and double chocolatey chip frappuccino)
  • Protein powder (in the smoothies)
  • Caramel drizzle (on the caramel macchiato and caramel frappuccino)

Unfortunately, a few drinks cannot be made vegan because of the dairy products in the syrup ingredients. Completely avoid these drinks:

  • Anything with pumpkin spice
  • Anything with white mocha
  • Anything with caramel brûlée
  • Any light frappuccinos

YOU’RE SET! Wasn’t that easy? Generally clear syrups are vegan, the sauces however are usually not. Fun fact: Mocha sauce is vegan. 😉

NEW: Vegan S’mores Frappuccino Hack! 

smores frap

With all the buzz over Starbucks’ new limited-time addition, the S’mores Frappuccino, the peta2 staff was dying to try it! Unfortunately, the marshmallow-infused whipped cream, milk chocolate sauce, and graham crumbles are NOT vegan, but that didn’t stop us. Check out how we created our own vegan version of the drink (it’s delicious!):

  • Order a tall coffee Frappuccino.
  • Add two pumps of toasted marshmallow syrup.
  • Add one pump of graham cracker syrup.
  • Add one pump of mocha.
  • Add more shots depending on desired sweetness level and drink size.

Check out some more of our favorite drinks from Starbucks:

Starbucks Refresher

Starbucks Refresher

Soy latte

Soy latte

Soy Frappuccino

Soy Frappuccino

Starbucks also offers a few vegan foods. Grab any of these, and you’re good to go:

Starbucks Snacks Collage

 

  • Fruit salad
  • Dried fruit
  • Roasted almonds
  • Mixed nuts
  • Dark-chocolate bar
  • Sea salt potato chips
  • Plain and multigrain bagel
  • Raw granola bar
  • Some Kind products (check for honey)

facebook share button

twitter share button

 

Need more vegan food? Sign up for free vegan recipes!

Respond

Comments

Post a Comment

Please log in to comment.

Your email address will not be published.

Connect with Facebook

Your email address will not be published.

Connect with Facebook

  • Profile photo of Pawprint212

    202 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    Vegan hot chocolate? I do not know if my body can handle caffeine from coffee and such. (It gets too much for my tiny body XD)

  • 236 days ago

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

    1

    I am just wondering about ‘Starbucks’ Christmas drinks, like eggnog latte and others. Are they vegan if ordered with soy milk? I mean do these ‘special’ syrups contain any traces of dairy?

    • Profile photo of CaseyRedd

      235 days ago

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

      4

      Hi Viktorija! You can order the Peppermint & Gingerbread Latte w/ soy milk & no whip for a vegan-friendly treat! You can also ask for the Classic Peppermint Hot Chocolate w/ soy & no whip. : )

  • Profile photo of spiritgirl10

    262 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    So a Vanilla Bean Frappuccino would be vegan if made with soy milk? Does it taste any different? I notice small differences very easily, so don’t wanna spend the money on it if it doesn’t taste good…

    • Profile photo of
      Liz

      257 days ago

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

      1

      Soymilk is way tastier in Starbucks drinks! They use vanilla soymilk so it tends to make drinks just a teeny bit sweeter :) Try it out, you’ll love it.

  • Profile photo of FranziskaEdwards

    263 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    1

    I have been told repeatedly at Starbucks that the plain (“Hawaiian”?) bagel and the 8-grain roll are both vegan. Not true?!

    • Profile photo of
      Liz

      257 days ago

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

      0

      The plain and multigrain bagels at Starbucks are vegan <3

  • Profile photo of Sagojyou

    270 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    Getting the cool lime refresher with lemonade instead of water is amazinggggggg.
    @HannahClaireJarvis is that true? Now I wanna go try that! 😀

  • Profile photo of HannahClaireJarvis

    282 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    1

    The new Teavana Oprah Chai is vegan with soy milk! No honey!!

  • Profile photo of

    310 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    @emilyr may I quote this article on my blog?

    • Profile photo of annie-l

      308 days ago

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

      1

      Yep!

  • 374 days ago

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    A lot of Starbucks have plain oatmeal too. Some have fresh fruit as well.

  • Profile photo of animalangel365

    543 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    1

    is the green tea soy latee vegan?

    • Profile photo of Whitney-C

      539 days ago

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

      3

      I’m not sure offhand, but the barista should be able to tell you the ingredients in that drink next time you’re there!

    • 514 days ago

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

      7

      I work as a barista at a coffee shop and unfortunately green tea latte with soy is not vegan bc the powder for the green tea latte is infused with diary.

  • Profile photo of katherinelogan1

    653 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    8

    Actually the information provided by PETA is false. Here is The REAL VEGAN LIST. Flavor shots contain lactose…totally NOT VEGAN.
    Drinks: Tazo Tea, Filter Coffee, Café Misto with Soy, Steamed Soy with or without syrups, Espresso, Espresso Macchiato with Soy ,Café Americano black or with Soy, Soy Lattes without syrups, Soy Cappuccinos, Mocha with Soy Classic Hot chocolate with Soy, Tea based Frappuccinos, Frappuccinos made with Soy milk without whipped cream (excluding our Mocha Cookie Crumble Frappuccino due to the Chocolate Chips in the beverage recipe as they contain dairy. Our Caramel Drizzle topping is also not suitable for vegans as it contains dairy.)
    Food: Perfect Porridge with Soy Milk and dried fruit Very Berry Compote Fresh Fruit Salad Fruit Salad Fairtrade Banana Roasted Almonds Nut Mix Fairtrade Chocolate bar – dark Sea Salt Potato Chips Sea Salt and Cider Vinegar Potato Chips Lollipops After Coffee Mints –

    • Profile photo of SaraAnn-C

      652 days ago

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

      13

      We actually have several staffers here in peta2 who have worked at Starbucks and most of the syrups (not sauces) do not contain any dairy—the clear syrups are typically safe! You can always ask your local barista to double check but currently the only sauces that contain dairy are the caramel sauce (syrup is vegan!) and the pumpkin spice. :)

  • Profile photo of Corazon

    711 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    3

    Is the caramel frappuccino vegan then or is it only the hazelnut and mocha ones?

  • 773 days ago

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    LV Outlet Real

  • Profile photo of HannahClaireJarvis

    782 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    3

    The hot chocolate syrup is also NOT vegan :(

    • Profile photo of tanman

      514 days ago

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

      3

      Yes it is vegan. Starbucks Mocha sauce is vegan.

  • Profile photo of jennifersiviero

    782 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    7

    Hey just so you guys know the Chai Tea Concentrate in Chai Tea Lattes contain honey. So depending on whether or not honey is included in your vegan diet the chai tea latte, even made with soy milk, may not be vegan for you.

    I am a barista at starbucks and I am always able to find something delicious to have that works with my vegan diet. If you guys were wondering about the ingredients this is straight off a box in-store AN INFUSION OF (WATER, BLACK TEA, BLACK PEPPER, GINGER, CARDAMOM, CINNAMON, CLOVES, STAR ANISE, NATURAL FLAVORS), CANE SUGAR, HONEY, GINGER JUICE, NATURAL FLAVORS, VANILLA EXTRACT, CITRIC ACID.

  • Profile photo of lissy09

    782 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    4

    Does there chai have honey?

  • Profile photo of jessicamacdougall5

    802 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    25

    I don’t need coffee because of all the energy I gained from simply being cruelty-free

  • Profile photo of alexblue

    819 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    4

    Supercool! Thanks for posting this!
    I’m sending it to my Starbucks-addicted sister. :)