BE A PART OF THE PETA2 MOVEMENT

Accidentally Vegan Movie Theater Snacks

Posted by  Kim Johnson

Calling all movie-loving vegans! No, it’s not April Fool’s Day—and no, you’re not dreaming. You care about animals, and you know how much cows suffer because of the dairy industry. So you may have been ignoring the enticing aroma coming from the concession stand at your local movie theater and resisting the urge to partake in the delicious, salty, buttery taste you so desire. But wait, my fellow vegans, I have news for you: Drumroll, please …

The popcorn and buttery topping at your local movie theater might be vegan!

Wait, what? Even the BUTTERY topping? Yes! Even the buttery topping! popocorn YAS PLS Julian

The popular movie-theater chain Regal Entertainment Group has at least one theater in almost every state (and in some locations outside the U.S., too). Regal’s popcorn is gluten-free (if you’re into that), and it’s popped using canola oil. Regal’s buttery topping is made using partially hydrogenated soybean oil, beta-carotene, and natural and artificial colors and flavors. So enjoy!

AMC Theatres is another theater chain with many locations, and its popcorn is made with coconut oil, which does not contain any dairy products. The buttery topping ingredients at AMC vary depending on location, though, so the theater chain recommends checking with your local AMC location about the ingredients.

If you’re going to a theater that is not AMC or Regal, chances are the popcorn might be vegan there, too! When in doubt, call or e-mail the theater ahead of time and ask about the popcorn ingredients. If your movie theater uses butter or if you’re not sure, never fear! There are lots of vegan treats available, such as Airheads, Sour Patch Kids, Skittles, and Red Vines to enhance your moviegoing experience.

movie candy collage

Or you can go DIY and bring your own snacks, such as cut-up veggies, your favorite vegan chips, or a bag of Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Flavor Popcorn. Mmmm …

Keep in mind that although all the above-mentioned options are cruelty-free, they are definitely not the healthiest and should be enjoyed in moderation.

 Download our iPhone app and you can help animals from your theater seat! 

peta2-banner-iPhone-app-610x250-v02

Respond

Comments

Post a Comment

Please log in to comment.

Your email address will not be published.

Connect with Facebook

Please check I'm not a robot

Your email address will not be published.

Connect with Facebook

Please check I'm not a robot

  • 125 days ago

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    We have been told that AMC puts a cheese/milk based powder on their popcorn which gives it the yellow color. Anyone have any knowledge of this?

  • Profile photo of valentine681

    247 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    1

    WISH WE HAD SOME UP TO DATE MOVIE THEATRE CHAINS HERE !! STILL SHOWING BLACK AND WHITE FILMS !!!

  • Profile photo of Cocktails

    249 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    Keifer’s Kettle Korn is Vegan too and comes in lots of great flavors!!!

  • Profile photo of lilered

    633 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    yes<33

  • Profile photo of pepperlovescakes

    728 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    Yum

  • Profile photo of cutiekinnsismycatfriend

    751 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    DJGHPSRTIHJTY THANK YOU!!

  • Profile photo of CaptainLelz

    800 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    2

    Now I remember what love at first sight is.

  • Profile photo of frenchhorn

    812 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    1

    My brain just exploded into tiny, itty, bitty pieces. What?!

  • Profile photo of maria34

    823 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    1

    Now I don’t have to worry.

  • Profile photo of empoweredvegetarian22

    826 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    3

    Bless the lord… VEGAN POPCORN!!!!! 🙂