• Green olives

    Profile photo of Dagmar

    Over a year ago

    So while I was at the grocery store I was looking for green olives. However, the ingredients listed on each jar that they have lactic acid. Now I know lactic acid can sometimes be from plant sources, but is mostly from cows. Are green olives vegan or do I need to search for vegan olives too? Help please.

Please log in to reply.

  • Profile photo of Styna

    Over a year ago

    I would have thrown a hissy fit if I found out green olives weren’t vegan 0.0
    Been like “REALLY?? We can’t even have our OLIVES??”
    And then punched someone in the face.

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of Dagmar

    Over a year ago

    @annie-I and @silencescreams
    Thank you so much for your answers. It’s great to know I can eat green olives still. 😀

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of annie-l

    Over a year ago

    Hi @Dagmar,

    The olives are vegan. :) If it’s lactate or lactic acid, it’s not from dairy (exception – sterol lactate due to the stearic acid). “Lac” ingredients are usually produced by a fermentation process using cornstarch or beet sugar.

    ~Annie from peta2.

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  • Profile photo of silencescreams

    Over a year ago

    I stole this off of google

    Best Answer – Chosen by Asker


    ETA: “Lactose, or milk sugar, should not be confused with the much more common lactic acid, or with galactose, which are not dairy derived. Lactose is generally indicate by -lacto- while lactic acid is indicated by -lact- in an ingredient name. Lactic acid can be safely assumed to be vegan unless its part of a compound such as a stearate.”…
    5 years ago
    Report Abuse

    7 people rated this as good
    Asker’s Rating:Asker’s Comment:Thanks so much for explaining so clearly. I’m excited to get a jar of garlic stuffed olives now :) Don’t worry, you can’t smell my breath from there.

    Anyways, I’m pretty sure most things with lactic acid are vegan. Also considering it is pickling juice, that makes it even more reassuring. Olives- good in natural fats, disgusting 😛

    You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Chatting Today

casey now chatting boards


All animal emergencies (injured, stray, neglected, abused, etc) should be reported to our Emergency Response Team, not posted on the Boards.


Recent Activities

  • Profile Photo

    SHOCKING: Meet the Pigs Suffering in Breeder's 'Junk Pen'

  • Profile Photo

    Victoria's Secret Is Paying for Deadly Tests on Animals!

  • Profile Photo

    'Sesame Street' and SeaWorld?!

  • Profile Photo

    Retire Lonely Joe From The Mobile Zoo!

  • Profile Photo

    Teacher Juggles Dead Frogs