Passover is an important holiday in the Jewish faith, lasting eight days and commemorating the freedom of the Israelites from slavery in Egypt.
Here’s how to replace the animal foods often found on the Passover table with delicious, healthful, and humane dishes:
How to Set a Vegan Seder Plate
The first day of Passover begins with the Seder feast, which can easily be made vegan. Many vegans who celebrate Passover use a flower on the ritual Seder plate—to symbolize spring and life—instead of the traditional egg. Using an egg from a chicken who spent her short existence squeezed inside a tiny crowded cage is no way to celebrate life! And in place of the customary shank bone, many Jews use a beet, as allowed in the Talmud.
No breads or leavened grains can be consumed during Passover, so egg-free matzoh (unleavened flatbread) is the way to go.
This is traditionally a mixture of chopped nuts, apples, honey, spices, and wine. Substitute agave or Bee Free Honee for honey, and your charoset will be vegan.
Red beet is permitted on the Seder plate.
The Torah commands that “bitter herbs” be eaten. Romaine lettuce, horseradish, and celery all suffice as bitter herbs.
You can substitute an egg with an avocado, a flower, or a white eggplant (without the stem).
Any green will do, but spring parsley is a popular choice. Dip the green in saltwater or vinegar (depending on your tradition) before consuming.
The Haggadah also calls for four cups of wine to be consumed over the course of the Passover Seder ceremony. If you’re 21+, look for a vegan wine that’s marked with a P, which means that it’s Kosher for Passover.