BE A PART OF THE PETA2 MOVEMENT

Veganize Your Delivery Pizza!

We all love a good vegan pizza—I mean, we are human beings, after all. But what about those late nights when you’re just trying to get your pizza delivery on? Or times when all your not-yet-vegan friends want to order from the average pizza joint in town, and you don’t want to be the annoying vegan who won’t eat any? WHAT DO WE DO THEN?!? Have no fear! We’ve got happy news for you: Most pizza delivery chains are totally vegan-friendly! vegan delivery pizza Follow our tips, and you’ll find yourself grubbin’ on vegan pizza pretty much anywhere. 🙂

THE BASICS

  • Since the most common pizza chains don’t carry vegan cheese (yet!), I suggest you make peace with cheeseless pizza! It’s actually really good—sometimes, I even make my own pizza at home without any vegan cheese. Also, once you get into it, you’ll find that you have a lot more opportunities to eat pizza, which is ALWAYS a good thing.
  • Order extra sauce! Usually you can get it for free in place of the cheese. 🙂
  • Treat yo bad self and go crazy with veggie toppings! Up the flavor meter with zesty garlic and banana peppers, or make a yummy sweet ‘n’ savory pizza by throwing some pineapple on with your veggies.

yum vegan pizza

WHAT TO ORDER

Papa John’s:

  • The sauce and original hand-tossed dough are vegan, so go ahead and order your veggie pizza as usual—but without cheese!
  • Do your thing with Papa John’s wide variety of veggie toppings.
  • BONUS: Order the garlic dipping sauce (totally vegan!) or get BBQ sauce on your pizza!

Domino’s:

  • Order the thin crust (others aren’t vegan) and regular sauce.
  • Order all the veggie toppings that your heart desires.
  • BONUS: Kick up the yum factor and get some dipping cups on the side! The garlic sauce, BBQ sauce, hot buffalo sauce, and Italian dipping cups are all vegan. Woo!

Little Caesars:

  • Order the regular crust and regular sauce—both are vegan!
  • Go to town on the veggie toppings.
  • BONUS: You can special-order the Crazy Bread without Parmesan cheese, along with some Crazy Sauce on the side. HALLELUJAH!

Pizza Hut:

  • Order regular or sweet pizza sauce and either the Thin ‘N Crispy or Hand-Tossed crust (some others aren’t vegan).
  • Go crazy with the veggie toppings!
  • BONUS: The dessert crust is also vegan! DIY dessert pizza, anyone?

GETTING FANCY

OK, so you’ve had a bomb-ass vegan pizza delivered to your front door, and that baby is gonna be delicious as is! But if you want to take it from a standard delivery pizza to a gourmet feast, here are a few quick tips:

  • Have some vegan cheese at home? Preheat your oven while you wait for the pizza to arrive, and once it does, sprinkle it with vegan cheese and slide it in the oven. In a few minutes, you’ll have a super-fancy (and super-cheesy) vegan pizza!
  • To get your cheeze fix with no baking required, sprinkle on some nutritional yeast or vegan Parmesan.
  • Ask for extra red pepper packets, y’all—you’ll need ’em.

See, being vegan is TOO freaking easy sometimes. Now go change into your PJs and order yourself a PIZZA! 😛

Want some inspiration for those days when you actually feel like cooking? 😉

recipe sign up blog button

Respond

Comments

Post a Comment

Please log in to comment.

Your email address will not be published.

Connect with Facebook

Please check I'm not a robot

Your email address will not be published.

Connect with Facebook

Please check I'm not a robot

  • Profile photo of bluto

    123 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    4

    none of the crusts are vegan at domino’s, the THIN has L-Cysteine, the gluten free has honey, & all others have whey etc., this is clearly indicated in the ingredient listings on their website … c’mon peta, get it right!

    • Profile photo of CaseyRedd

      115 days ago

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

      12

      Thanks for reaching out! We’ve already reached out to the company about this, and the L-Cysteine they use is vegan. It’s not always animal-derived. Thanks! 🙂

  • 144 days ago

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

    2

    So little ceasar’s cheese is vegan? It does not tell you to order the pizza without cheese

  • 152 days ago

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    The garlic dipping sauce at Papa John’s is NOT VEGAN. I checked the ingredients list on their website since a lot of people in the comments have pointed out the mistakes in the article. The garlic dipping sauce has lactic acid. So NOT vegan.

    • 144 days ago

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

      8

      Lactic acid is not always derived from milk.. lactic acid is vegan!!!!

  • 172 days ago

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

    1

    WARNING!!! just rang PAPPA JOHNS & DOMINOS and all their bases have MILK in them. The only base that is fully VEGAN is the Dominos Gluten Free base.

    xx

    • 144 days ago

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

      1

      not true!! all of these are vegan.

    • Profile photo of bluto

      123 days ago

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

      0

      if you are referring to the crust when you say “base”, then the gluten free crust at domino’s has honey, so NOT vegan

    • Profile photo of lilmiknik

      121 days ago

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

      0

      *** WARNING ***
      THE DOMINOS GLUTEN FREE CRUST IS NOT VEGAN: It has honey, an animal by-product. Here is the ingredient list from this page on the website: https://www.dominos.com/en/pages/content/customer-service/glutenfreecrust.jsp
      Water, Modified Rice Starch, Rice Flour, Brown Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Olive Oil, Potato Flour, Evaporated Cane Sugar, Fresh Yeast, ***Honey***, Avicel, Salt, Calcium Propionate. Note: Avicel functions as a fat replacer in Gluten Free crusts. It is used primarily to help retain moisture so the crust is not too dry and tough.

      • Profile photo of CaseyRedd

        115 days ago

        VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

        4

        Thanks for letting everyone know! The thin crust is indeed the only vegan option at Dominos. Thanks!

  • Profile photo of ForestRock
  • Profile photo of enephesti

    254 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    5

    Ah man, in England the Domino’s thin crust still isn’t vegan 🙁

  • 283 days ago

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    Yay! I had been going to the other side of the city to eat at Mellow Mushroom. Glad Papa John’s is an option, too!

  • 289 days ago

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

    2

    Thanks! I just ordered a Papa Johns pizza because of this article! Delicious!!!

  • Profile photo of mynameisntlizzy

    297 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    3

    i was a manager as little caesars and the sauce most definitely does have dairy in it. we mix the red sauce with a prepackaged mix that includes cheese. no animal friendly pizza. but the crazy bread and crazy sauce are vegan, just exclude the parm; also ask for the bread to be buttered on it’s own paper, not on the sheet pan, as that is covered in parm.

  • 379 days ago

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

    11

    Too expensive! $22 for a pizza loaded with veggies (sprinkled more like it). Why pay that much when a good loaf of bread is $1? Bread and sauce are all I got basically. Plus the non-vegans around me thought it made being vegan boring and more expensive. I will only make my own from now on or go to vegan places. It is absurd that a meat and cheese pizza is cheaper than a veggie lovers.

  • 392 days ago

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

    5

    according to the Dominos website non eof their bases are safe for vegans and contain a ‘milk derived ingredient’

  • 426 days ago

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

    3

    Domino’s and Little Caesars need to be looked at again. Domino’s ‘regular’ sauce contains milk, and I can’t find a damn thing regarding the specific crusts or sauces for Little Caesars. They list allergens for pre-made pizza, but there’s nothing regarding the components of customized pizza or the individual ingredients used to make them.

  • Profile photo of learningvegan

    463 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    is their any way to find a place with vegan cheese? i need my cheeze!

  • 479 days ago

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    […] Here is the link: http://www.peta2.com/lifestyle/veganize-delivery-pizza/ […]

  • Profile photo of juliaroberts

    480 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    0

    Informative post. Thanks for giving the useful information with many pizza hut.
    indian restaurants in hong kong

  • Profile photo of TheVegansHaveThePhoneBox

    841 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    3

    thank you so much!! just ate some pizza hut, it’s been too long! got a ton of veggies and added some daiya cheese, it was awesome 😀

  • Profile photo of ekmill01

    842 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    5

    ATTENTION
    I ordered pizza about a hour ago from papa johns, it was no cheese with vegetables. When i was biting into my second slice there was SAUSAGE on my pizza. I spit it out right away but i was so disgusted i almost vomited. I was so angry and called papa johns right away and all they offered was a free pizza when the last thing i want is another pizza from them.
    WATCH OUT CHECK YOUR PIZZA/

  • Profile photo of LittleLotte

    858 days ago

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]

    9

    ALWAYS ask for extra sauce! They don’t realise that a pizza can end up a bit dry without cheese if extra sauce isn’t added, and they don’t seem to add it automatically so make sure you ask.

  • 863 days ago

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

    6

    You forgot the most important pizza addition. Sriracha! Also, the Papa John’s plain breadsticks + garlic sauce… <3
    And no matter where you order from request that they use clean utensils. I worked in a pizza chain once and they tend to use the same scoops for toppings, cutting board and knife for hours or even an entire day without swapping out for clean ones. Some staffers are smart and considerate enough to use clean gear for a veg, but some won't bother unless you specifically ask. After a while that stuff gets pretty greasy and gross and might transfer some nasty unwanted extra toppings onto your pizza. I've had to send back pizzas that had meat on them, and I know from experience it's just from stuff sticking to the inside of the scoops they use to measure out toppings